Album of the Month – March 2023

Rough Trade Records

March 1st, 2023

share the music

Dead Oceans

Headbanging punk meets sensitive moments, as the South London rockers return with new tricks on exploratory new album Food For Worms.  

Transparent red vinyl + bonus disc & flexi. Limited copies.



Vocalist Charlie Steen, guitarist Sean Coyle-Smith, bassist Josh Finerty, guitarist Eddie Green and drummer Charlie Forbes are Shame, a polished five-piece who continue to rise to stratospheric success, renowned for their whip-smart lyrics and raucous energy.


Shaped by a series of low-key and intimate live performances of the album’s early material, Shame craft a collection of songs with the familiar raw energy and sonic experimentalism we’ve come to know them for. Now, adventuring into new territories, the band explore a Lou Reed style vulnerability in their lyrics. Helping the album pack a real punch is Mark ‘Flood’ Ellis, legendary producer (PJ Harvey, Nick Cave, Smashing Pumpkins, Brian Eno, Foals, New Order and more) who oversees a progression of style incorporating more eclectic influences, such as the melodic works of 90s German band, Blumfeld. With a newfound confidence, this is a band who know what they want, enlisting the vocal talents of Phoebe Bridgers to bolster the track Adderall, making brazen use of loud-quiet dynamics and sharing all about their relationship and growth as a band.


The Fall, Talking Heads, Viagra Boys, Sorry, Idles

Browse our


Comments are closed.

Sign up for the
Unplugged Newsletter

Random Cover